St. Michael Novena & Battling Evil

Today begins the nine day novena to St. Michael, the Archangel, which ends on his feast day September 28. St. Michael may be most well known for his “protection against the wickedness and snares of the devil” as we appeal for his aid in the St. Michael prayer, a prayer I’m quite excited is being re-instituted at the end of all Masses. The image of St. Michael doing battle against the Evil One and sending him off scowling and whimpering is quite joyful. I feel his protection when I recite the prayer daily (sometimes more than once, depending on how attacked I feel throughout the day) and it is comforting to picture him standing to my side in his armor, sword raised, and ready to fend off evil spirits threatening God’s children, their faith, the Church, and good works.

Several weeks ago my daughter and I made an appointment with our associate pastor to discuss some sleeping issues she’s been having due to fear of a sense of evil presence near her – something I’ve experienced myself since around her age. I expected the usual recommendations (which I had already told her) to trust in the protection of God, that with our faith we shall “fear no evil,” pray to St. Michael, pray the rosary, and ask Jesus to remove any present evil. You can imagine my shock when Father asked a few questions including how long this has been going on for both of us and then very casually told us our family tree had been damaged due to someone’s activity and participation in evil in recent past generations. He has quite the connection with the Holy Spirit, who communicates with him in extraordinary ways that make him a very helpful adviser and confessor. The Old Testament tells us that participation in witchcraft or other evil rituals (think Ouija board, horror movies, mediums, seances, and abortion, for modern examples) can bring evil spirits not only to those participating, but to family members for up to three generations causing all sorts of problems including physical illness, mental illness, family strife, and the presence of evil spirits who can follow us around, even from house to house.

His “prescription” was to have Masses said specifically for the healing our family tree, pray the Chaplet of Divine Mercy daily for the intention of our family tree, constantly wear a scapular or St. Benedict or Miraculous Medal that has been blessed, have our home blessed, and participate in the sacraments frequently (including confession at least monthly and receiving the Eucharist at Mass daily if possible). He also gave me a small vial of miraculous Holy Oil which was collected from a holy image exuding oil. He then prayed over us and sent us on our way to do battle in honor of our family tree.

I had intended to pray the St. Michael novena, as well as the St. Therese novena coming up in a few days, with the request of resolving and healing some severe physical pains I’ve been struggling with recently. However, considering St. Michael’s duty in battling the Evil One and protecting God’s children from his evil ploys, I believe it will be more appropriate to request his help in healing our family tree of whatever haunts it. I will save my personal sufferings for St. Therese of Lisieux and hope for her to throw a few roses my way.

Please join me in battle by praying the Saint Michael Novena…

God’s Blessings to you!

~A~

Saint Michael Novena, September 20-28

Image

Saint Michael the Archangel, loyal champion of God and His Catholic people, I turn to thee with confidence and seek thy powerful intercession. for the love of God, Who hast made thee so glorious in grace and power, and for the love of the Mother of Jesus, the Queen of the Angels, be pleased to hear my prayer.

Thou knowest the value of my soul in the eyes of God. may no stain of evil ever disfigure its beauty. help me to conquer the evil spirit who tempts me. I desire to imitate thy loyalty to God and Holy Mother Church and they great love for God and men. And since thou art God’s messenger for the care of His people, I entrust to thee this special request: (mention request here).

Saint Michael, since thou art, by the will of the Creator, the powerful intercessor of Christians, I have great confidence in thy prayers. I earnestly trust that if it is God’s holy will, my petition will be granted.

Pray for me, Saint Michael, and also for those I love. Protect us in all dangers of body and soul. Help us in our daily needs. Through they powerful intercession, may we live a holy life, die a happy death, and reach Heaven where we may praise and love God with thee forever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

